Bruce Springsteen’s DWI, Reckless Driving Charges Dismissed
March 4, 2021
Musician Bruce Springsteen had his reckless driving and driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges dismissed by a court late last month.
Springsteen Arrested Last November for DWI
Springsteen was arrested by park rangers in Sandy Hook’s Gateway National Recreation Area on November 14, 2020, after the rangers witnessed Springsteen accept and consume a couple of shots of liquor from a group of fans and then soon after continue to operate his motor vehicle. Springsteen was cited for DWI, reckless driving, and consuming alcohol in a closed area, as public consumption of alcohol is not permitted in the Gateway National Recreation Area.
Read more: The Boss of the Big House? Bruce Springsteen Reportedly Arrested for a DUI in November 2020
Prosecutors Drop Charges Due to Insufficient Evidence
During a virtual hearing, Springsteen pled guilty to the consuming alcohol charge. Prosecutors dropped the DWI and reckless driving charges, conceding that they had insufficient evidence to move forward on those charges. Springsteen’s blood alcohol concentration at the time of his arrest was measured at 0.02 percent, well below the legal limit of 0.08 percent.
The trial judge sentenced Springsteen to a $540 fine on the consumption charge, noting the singer’s relatively clean driving record.
Penalties for a DWI Conviction
The potential penalties for a conviction for DWI in New Jersey will depend on the defendant’s blood alcohol concentration at the time of the offense and how many prior DWI convictions the defendant has.
If your BAC is less than 0.10 percent, penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey are:
- First offense: Fine of $250 to $400, incarceration for up to 30 days, requirement to install ignition interlock for three months, 12 hours at a Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, insurance surcharge of $1000 per year for three years.
- Second offense: Fine of $500 to $1000, incarceration for at least 48 hours and up to 90 days, one to two year license suspension, requirement to install ignition interlock during license suspension and for two to four years thereafter, 30 days’ community service, insurance surcharge of $1000 per year for three years.
- Third offense: Fine of $1000, incarceration for 180 days up to 90 days of which may be served in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, eight-year license suspension requirement to install ignition interlock during license suspension and for two to four years thereafter, 30 days’ community service, insurance surcharge of $1500 per year for three years.
If your BAC is 0.10 percent or more but less than 0.15 percent, a first time DUI conviction comes with increased penalties of:
- Fine of $300 to $500
- Imprisonment for up to 30 days
- Ignition interlock requirement for seven to 12 months
- Two days at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- $1000 auto insurance surcharge per year for three years
A BAC of 0.15 or more on a first-time DWI conviction may additionally subject you to a license suspension of four to six months and an ignition interlock requirement during the period of license suspension and for nine to 15 months thereafter.
Potential Defenses to DWI Charges
A DWI defense attorney may be able to help you face your charges by raising factual or legal defenses that may be available to you, depending on the circumstances of your case, such as:
- Challenging the legality of the initial traffic stop by arguing police did not have reasonable suspicion
- Proving that you were not operating a motor vehicle at the time of your arrest
- Problems that affect the reliability of the results of your breath or blood test
Contact an Experienced Audubon DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction stays on your driver’s abstract permanently, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Audubon, Gloucester City, Camden, Cherry Hill, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-246-5576 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office located at 109 E. Atlantic Ave., Audubon, NJ 08106, in addition to offices located in Hamilton.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.