logo
inner hero banner mobile banner shadow
Multiple DUI

South Jersey Multiple DUI Lawyers

Leading DUI Defense Attorneys Represent Clients Charged With Multiple DUI Offenses In Camden County, Burlington County, and Gloucester County, New Jersey

The Garden State has stiff penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A driver can be charged with DWI when their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or more. A driver can also be charged with DWI when that level is below the legal threshold. Consuming any amount of alcohol that negatively impacts your driving can result in a drunk driving conviction.

New Jersey drivers can also be charged with DUI if they are operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of a narcotic, habit-producing drug, or a hallucinogenic. Marijuana, prescription drugs, and over-the-counter medications can all impair your judgment and your ability to drive. At Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC, our leading South Jersey criminal defense team has in-depth knowledge and hands-on experience defending DUI/DWI charges. Attorneys at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC are certified in standardized field sobriety testing in New Jersey and we stand ready to fight the charges brought against you or your loved one.

Stiff Penalties For Multiple DUI Offenses In New Jersey

In New Jersey, the penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) become harsher with each subsequent offense. Specifically, the penalties are as follows:

New Jersey Second DUI Offense

The following are the penalties and fines for a second DUI offense in New Jersey that is within ten years of the first conviction:

  • Monetary fine of $500 – $1,000 
  • Potential imprisonment for a minimum of 48 consecutive hours to a maximum of 90 days 
  • License suspension for a minimum of one year to a maximum of two years 
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for the period of license suspension plus two to four years after the license has been restored
  • Possible community service for a period of 30 days
  • Must satisfy the IDRC evaluation, referral, and program requirements 
  • Payment of an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years 

New Jersey Third DUI Offense 

The following are the penalties and fines for a third DUI offense in New Jersey that is within ten years of the second conviction:

  • Monetary fine of $1,000
  • Mandatory imprisonment for a period of 180 days. An exception may be made by the court whereby the term is lowered based on each day that is served in an IDRC-approved drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program, not to exceed 90 days
  • License suspension for a period of eight years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for the period of license suspension plus two to four years after the license has been restored
  • Mandatory community service for a period of 30 days
  • Must satisfy the IDRC evaluation, referral, and program requirements 
  • Payment of an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for three years

All New Jersey DUI offenses also carry the following charges that must be paid:

  • Payment of a $100 surcharge to be deposited in the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund 
  • Payment of a Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee of $100 
  • Payment of an Intoxicated Driving Program fee of $100 
  • Payment of a Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50 
  • Payment of a Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75

In addition to these penalties, in New Jersey, judges may order the revocation of the vehicle registration. New Jersey DUI laws can be confusing and defending multiple DUI charges is particularly challenging. Top-rated criminal defense attorneys at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC skillfully develop strong legal defenses for our clients to fight DUI charges. To learn more about how we can help fight the DUI charges in your case as well as the services we provide, schedule a free initial consultation with a member of our team.

Skilled DUI/DWI Attorneys Build Strong Legal Defense For Clients Charged With Second, Third DUI/DWI Offenses 

If you or a loved one have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) and it is not a first offense, the penalties are serious. Imprisonment, license suspension, installation of an ignition interlock device, community service, and assorted fines all await a conviction. Do not take these charges lightly. Secure the best possible defense for the best possible outcome in your case.

The multiple DUI attorneys at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC bring the necessary experience, skill, and training to fight second, third, and subsequent DUI/DWI charges. We share 18 years of combined experience, offering compassionate counsel and personal attention to each case. We offer a free initial consultation so that you can make the most informed decision regarding your DUI/DWI case. Contact our office to schedule your free consultation today.

Frequently Asked Questions About Multiple DUI Offenses In South Jersey

FAQ: What are the penalties for underage DUI in New Jersey?

New Jersey has zero-tolerance laws for underage drinking and driving. In New Jersey, if you are under 21 years of age, and you drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in your system — a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .01 or above — and you are convicted of violating the state’s zero-tolerance laws, the penalties include loss or postponement of driving privileges for a minimum of 30 days to a maximum of 90 days, mandatory community service for a period of 15 to 30 days, and participation in an alcohol and traffic safety education program or a referral to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.

FAQ: What is the penalty for driving with a suspended license due to a DWI charge in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, if you are charged with driving with a suspended license due to a driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction, your penalties include imprisonment for 10 to 90 days, an additional license suspension of 1 to 2 years, revocation of your motor vehicle registration, and a $500 fine. If you are involved in a car accident while your license is suspended and someone is hurt in the accident, you face a mandatory jail sentence of 45 to180 days.

Top

Rated

Aydelotte Scardella

Why Choose Us

  • 20 Years of Experience
    When your freedom is at stake, experience matters. At Aydelotte & Scardella, LLC, we have nearly 20 years of experience defending clients just like you. We’re proud to have been recognized by South Jersey Magazine as a Top Lawyer in Criminal Defense, “Rising Star” lawyers by Super Lawyers Magazine, “Awesome Attorney” by South Jersey Magazine in 2018 and by the Mercer County Bar Association for our legal abilities and commitment to legal education.
    01 /03
  • Dedicated to Our Clients
    At Aydelotte & Scardella, LLC, we have dedicated our legal careers to defending individuals who have been accused of a crime. We will take the time to answer any questions you may have about the charges against you, what to expect during the process and develop the strongest criminal defense strategy available in your case. We know that a criminal conviction can follow you for the rest of your life, so we will leave no stone unturned to ensure that you have the strongest defense as possible.
    02 /03
  • Aggressive Defense
    We aggressively fight for individuals who have been charged with assault, shoplifting, sex crimes, domestic violence, drug crimes, weapon offenses, juvenile crimes and much more. Contact Aydelotte & Scardella, LLC today for a free criminal defense consultation. We’re ready to help you get your life back on track.
    03 /03