Cumberland County Traffic Violation Lawyers
Well Respected Traffic Violations Lawyer Successfully Fights Traffic Tickets For Clients In Cumberland County and Throughout New Jersey
At Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC, our well-respected Cumberland County traffic violation lawyers successfully fight traffic tickets on behalf of our New Jersey clients.
The warmer temperatures have arrived, and there’s nothing like the feeling of driving with the windows open or the car top down. Unfortunately, when so many people have the same idea, what should have been a leisurely excursion can quickly become a traffic nightmare. And, unfortunately, this is often the case with Route 55, which is heavily traveled and the source of many car accidents.
Driving frustration is not uncommon. But if your traffic woes led you to tailgate, speed when you had the slightest opening, or drive recklessly, and you received a summons for a traffic violation, then your troubles are only just beginning. Traffic violations are often dismissed as “nothing to worry about” but too many convictions can have a significant impact on not only your driving record but also on your life.
Don’t underestimate the impact of a traffic violation. Schedule a free consultation with our knowledgeable Cumberland County traffic violation lawyers at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC.
Traffic Violations On Your Driving Record And New Jersey’s Point System For Traffic Convictions
The state of New Jersey utilizes a point-based system for recording traffic violation convictions on a motorist’s driving record. Traffic violations negatively impact an individual’s driving record, leading to higher insurance premiums and the possibility of driver’s license suspension if the accumulated points reach a certain level.
It is important to understand New Jersey’s point-based system for calculating penalties on an individual’s driving record. Each traffic violation amounts to a certain number of points on your drivers’ license, as follows:
- Failing to stop at a traffic light: 2 points
- Not yielding to a pedestrian in a crosswalk: 2 points
- Improper turn at a traffic light: 3 points
- Speeding between 1-14 mph over the speed limit: 2 points
- Speeding between 15- 29 mph over the speed limit: 4 points
- Speeding at least 30 mph over the speed limit: 5 points
- Reckless driving 5 points
- Tailgating: 5 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident when there is personal injury: 8 points
New Jersey suspends a motorist’s drivers’ license for at least 180 days if the motorist accumulates 12 points on their driving record within two years. Other penalties for traffic violation conviction are as follows:
- Court expenses
- Mandatory fines
- Payment of surcharges
- Additional surcharges based on the number of points accumulated
- Increases in insurance rates
- Serving jail time
If you have questions about traffic violations in New Jersey or points on your driving record, arrange for a free, no-obligation consultation with the experienced Cumberland County traffic violation lawyers at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC.
Have Questions Regarding Traffic Violations In New Jersey? Schedule A Free, No-Obligation Consultation With Respected Cumberland County Traffic Violation Lawyers At Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC
When it comes to traffic points on your drivers’ license, you may wonder how many points are too many. Traffic points have a way of adding up more quickly than we realize. And what once began as a two-point penalty for running a traffic light is now six points because you were pulled over for speeding. And so it goes. When the number of points on your drivers’ license reaches 12, you may lose your driving privileges altogether if you accumulated the points in a relatively short period of time.
If you or a loved one has traffic violations that are adding up and you are concerned about the impact on your ability to hold on to your drivers’ license, let us help. Cumberland County traffic violation lawyers at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC offer a free, no-obligation consultation so that you can get answers to your questions regarding traffic violations. Schedule a free consultation with our respected legal team today.
About Cumberland County, New Jersey
Cumberland County, New Jersey is situated on the Delaware Bay. Cumberland County is located approximately two hours from Baltimore and New York City, and approximately forty-five minutes from Atlantic City and Philadelphia. Cumberland County is home to approximately 150,000 residents. New Jersey’s Route 55 runs through Cumberland County, a heavily traveled roadway that is a dangerous highway for car accidents. In 2017, law enforcement issued 2,771 summonses for speeding in Cumberland County. In 2020, there were 22 fatal car accidents in Cumberland County, which resulted in 24 fatalities.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Traffic Violations In Cumberland County
A moving traffic violation is a situation where a traffic law is violated by a vehicle in motion. Driving over the speed limit is an example of a moving violation, as is driving while intoxicated (DWI). Driving through a red traffic light or through a stop sign are also instances of moving traffic violations. Non-moving traffic violations, on the other hand, most frequently pertain to parking violations or faulty equipment. Parking in a no-parking zone, for example, is a non-moving violation as is parking in front of a fire hydrant or in front of an expired parking meter. Excessive noise from a car’s muffler can also be considered a non-moving traffic violation.
New Jersey motorists who have accumulated 12 to 14 points on their drivers’ license within 24 months or more will receive a “Notice of Scheduled Suspension” in the mail from the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. Once you have received this notice, you are given several actions you may take: 1) request a hearing 2) surrender your drivers’ license for the suspension period or 3) attend a New Jersey Driver Improvement Program if you are eligible for this option. If you are granted a hearing, a Commission administrator or administrative law judge will determine if your drivers’ license should be suspended. If you are eligible to participate in a New Jersey Driver Improvement Program and you satisfactorily complete the program, you will have three points removed from your drivers’ license. If you have questions regarding the points on your New Jersey driving record, contact the Cumberland County traffic violation lawyers at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC.