Gloucester County Traffic Violation Lawyers

Gloucester County Traffic Violation Lawyers

Experienced Lawyers Fight Traffic Tickets For Clients In Gloucester County and Throughout New Jersey

Now that spring has sprung and the summer beach season is not far behind, the local roadways in Gloucester County will experience the seasonal increase in traffic down to the New Jersey shore. And along with that increase in traffic comes an uptick in traffic violations, particularly on New Jersey’s Route 42 and 55 with drivers from Philadelphia heading to the New Jersey beaches. If you took a jaunt to enjoy the seashore on a sunny day and instead of splashing in the surf you found yourself pulled over for a traffic violation, we’ve got you covered. At Aydelotte Law, LLC, our experienced Gloucester County traffic violation lawyers skillfully defend drivers who are charged with traffic violations in the Garden State.

Traffic Violations Have A Negative Impact On Your Driving Record: Understanding New Jersey’s Point System

Traffic violations are recorded on a motorist’s driving record, which serves as the basis for the motorist’s insurance rates. The state of New Jersey may suspend a motorist’s drivers’ license if there are too many traffic violations on the driving record.

New Jersey uses a point system as the basis for calculating penalties on a person’s driving record, with each type of traffic violation assigned a different number of points. Specifically, New Jersey’s point system for traffic violations is as follows:

  • Speeding between 1-14 mph over the speed limit: 2 points
  • Speeding between 15- 29 mph over the speed limit: 4 points
  • Speeding at least 30 mph over the speed limit: 5 points
  • Failing to stop at a traffic light: 2 points
  • Tailgating: 5 points
  • Reckless driving: 5 points
  • Leaving the scene of an accident when there is personal injury: 8 points

If a motorist accumulates 12 points on their driving record within two years, the motorist’s drivers’ license will be suspended for a period of at least 180 days. Additional penalties for conviction on a traffic violation may include the following:

  • Monetary fines
  • Court expenses
  • Surcharges
  • Surcharges based on the number of points accumulated
  • Insurance rate increases
  • Jail time

New Jersey imposes additional penalties for traffic violations that were conducted within a certain proximity of a school or a school bus. If you have received a ticket for a traffic violation in Gloucester County or another part of New Jersey, speak with an experienced traffic violation attorney at Aydelotte Law, LLC.

Don’t Underestimate the Impact Of A Traffic Violation; Schedule A Free Consultation With Knowledgeable Gloucester County Traffic Violation Lawyers At Aydelotte Law, LLC

Gloucester County, NJ Traffic Violation Attorney

Perhaps you were busy chatting with a passenger in your car and you accidentally drove through a red light. You were pulled over by law enforcement and issued a ticket for your traffic violation. You may think that since no other cars were around and no one was hurt, it’s not such a big deal. But you’re wrong.

While a conviction on a traffic ticket for driving through a red light is only two points, just those two points can have an impact on your driving record. Two points added to any other points on your driving record may add up to enough points to have your drivers’ license taken away. Points on your drivers’ license also add up to higher rates on your car insurance. Don’t underestimate the impact of a traffic violation. Schedule a free consultation with knowledgeable Gloucester County traffic violation lawyers at Aydelotte Law, LLC.

About Gloucester County, New Jersey

Gloucester County, New Jersey is located northwest of Atlantic City and south of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Gloucester County is considered part of the metropolitan Philadelphia area and is home to approximately 292,000 residents, making it New Jersey’s 14th most populous county. Gloucester County has numerous farms as well as Revolutionary War battlegrounds. A portion of I-295 and the New Jersey Turnpike almost run side-by-side in Gloucester County. In 2017, there were 3,859 summonses issued for speeding in Gloucester County.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Traffic Violations In Gloucester County

FAQ: What happens if I refuse to take the breathalyzer test in New Jersey?

Law enforcement officers cannot force you to take a breathalyzer test if they pull you over under suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI). If you refuse to submit to testing, it does not dismiss the charges. Instead, there are consequences for refusing. If this is your first time refusing to submit to testing, you will have your drivers’ license suspended until an ignition interlock device is installed in your vehicle and you will be required to have the ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for a period of 9 to 15 months. You also face a mandatory fine of $300-$500, you will be required to pay an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for a period of three years, and pay a $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund. You will also be required to participate in a program at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for a minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days. If you have additional questions regarding breathalyzer refusal in New Jersey, speak with an experienced traffic violation attorney at Aydelotte Law, LLC.

FAQ: Will I have to go to jail for a traffic ticket in New Jersey?

That depends. Some kinds of traffic tickets require jail time. For example, if you are driving with a suspended drivers’ license and this is not your first offense but your second ticketed offense, you may be ordered to serve five days in jail.

FAQ: If I am guilty of a traffic violation, what happens if I don’t fight the charge and just pay the ticket instead?

If you plead guilty to a traffic violation, you will be required to pay the maximum fine and the conviction will be recorded on your driving record. Traffic violation convictions result in points on your drivers’ license, which can increase your insurance premiums. Any points on your drivers’ license are accumulated so that if the points collectively reach a certain level, your drivers’ license may be suspended. If you have received a ticket for a traffic violation, it is in your best interests to consult with an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney.



Why Choose Us

  • 20 Years of Experience
    When your freedom is at stake, experience matters. At Aydelotte Law, LLC, we have nearly 20 years of experience defending clients just like you. We’re proud to have been recognized by South Jersey Magazine as a Top Lawyer in Criminal Defense, “Rising Star” lawyers by Super Lawyers Magazine, “Awesome Attorney” by South Jersey Magazine in 2018 and by the Mercer County Bar Association for our legal abilities and commitment to legal education.
    01 /03
  • Dedicated to Our Clients
    At Aydelotte Law, LLC, we have dedicated our legal careers to defending individuals who have been accused of a crime. We will take the time to answer any questions you may have about the charges against you, what to expect during the process and develop the strongest criminal defense strategy available in your case. We know that a criminal conviction can follow you for the rest of your life, so we will leave no stone unturned to ensure that you have the strongest defense as possible.
    02 /03
  • Aggressive Defense
    We aggressively fight for individuals who have been charged with assault, shoplifting, sex crimes, domestic violence, drug crimes, weapon offenses, juvenile crimes and much more. Contact Aydelotte Law, LLC today for a free criminal defense consultation. We’re ready to help you get your life back on track.
    03 /03